Hey, I’m A. Back in November of 2011 I joined Weight Watchers for the umpteenth time, this time at my highest recorded weight of 238.4. In the last (almost) six months I have lost over 50 pounds, with my current weight at 187.8. I’m working my way down to my goal of 150.

I’ve never had a blog before but I wanted somewhere to record my thoughts along the way.

I’m a rejoiner. My first time walking in a Weight Watchers meeting was my freshman year of college, back in the fall of 2001. I spent the year losing weight with my roommate, and we did great. Back then, I had never touched alcohol and it really wasn’t hard for me to follow the program. But I went home for the summer and after attending a meeting or two I gradually slipped off the wagon and maintained my weight (around 170) for a year or two before starting to gain it all back. I eventually crawled back to weight watchers sometime in 2005, losing down to 170 again. I’m really not sure why I stopped attending the meetings but I think I just got tired of tracking. I entered the Peace Corps and maintained that weight for a couple of years but about six months after returning to the U.S., I started to gain and gain and gain. A lot of the reason for this was my job–I became a bored nanny with way too much access to junk food. I tried to lose weight, even joining Weight Watchers, but didn’t stick with it for long. I felt overwhelmed, bored, and unhappy. It was a real wake-up call to see how big I had gotten at a visit to the doctor’s office, and to also have her tell me my blood pressure was borderline high. I was terrified that my being overweight would finally start to affect my health. I walked in the door at Weight Watchers the next day.

This time around, I know that I need to follow a concrete plan like Weight Watchers to have long term success with my weight loss. I’ve read some really sad articles about the science of the regain. This is going to be a life long struggle…a sad fact, but one I have to accept. I don’t have to live in a state of deprivation but I will have to keep a food diary for the foreseeable future and continue to have myself weighed at Weight Watcher meetings. I think it’s worth it to be at a healthy weight.

